Heworth Court Bed and Breakfast, York

Yorkshire days out



Headlines

Discover historic york full story...
Sightseeing full story...
Theatres, cinema and tours full story..
Yorkshire days out full story... Shoppers dream full story...
Romance full story...
Golf courses full story...

Yorkshire days out

York is the ideal place to stay for getting out and about in the picturesque Dales with riverside villages, tumbling waterfalls and sweeping fells, or delight in the purple landscape of the North Yorkshire Moors. Drop in on the market towns of Malton, Helmsley & Pickering, and the pretty villages of Thornton Le Dale and Hutton Le Hole. While you are there, stay a while in Dalby Forest, a 9 mile scenic drive, with cycle paths, walks, picnic and barbecue areas, or visit the Ryedale Folk Museum with thatched cottages and craft workshops, marking the changes in rural life since Tudor times. Did you enjoy James Herriot’s novels? If so, stop by his surgery at Thirsk, experience the life of a country vet in the 1940’s. Venture a little further over the Moors to the coast, see the quaint town of Whitby, home of Bram Stoker’s Dracula or travel a little further to Scarborough, catch the bracing sea air on the front, or be enthralled by the creatures and marine life at the Sea Life Centre - new for this year - ‘The World of the Octopus’. You can even experience a ride on a real steam train to ‘Aidensfield’ and beyond, through 18 miles of scenic countryside.


North of York lies Newby Hall & Gardens in Ripon http://www.newbyhall.co.uk and Ripon Cathedral http://www.riponcathedral.org.uk/riponcathedral/ and Duncombe Park http://www.duncombepark.com - you can also study the history of Treske at the Trees to Treske visitor centre http://www.yorkshirenet.co.uk/treske
Scotland's capital Edinburgh is only 2 and a half hours away by train from York's railway station.

East Of York, you can visit Castle Howard - only 15 miles away - setting for television's Brideshead Revisited. Between York and the East Yorkshire Coastline town of Whitby lies the North Yorkshire Moors. Visit Goathland "Heartbeat country" via an authentic North Yorkshire Moors Steam Train at the small village-town of Pickering:- http://www.nymr.demon.co.uk or visit an award winning war museum "Eden Camp" (1939-45) near the Market town of Malton. The east-Yorkshire coastline is less than 1 hours drive away by car.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leeds is the largest city in Yorkshire. Leeds is only around 20 minutes train journey, South of York and here you can visit one of Yorkshire's newest tourist attractions. The Royal Armouries is a huge museum with a range of live displays. It also houses Britain's biggest ever dinosaur exhibition:- http://www.armouries.org.uk - England's capital London is only 2 hours away by train from York's railway station.


The Yorkshire Dales, and in between the Yorkshire Dales and York is located Mother Shiptons Cave and the Petrifying Wells at Knaresborough http://www.mothershipton.co.uk - Nearer towards the Yorkshire Dales, the wonderful Fountains Abbey and Bolton Abbey shouldn't be missed http://www.yorkshirenet.co.uk/boltonabbey not far from Skipton Castle http://www.skiptoncastle.co.uk - and for "real ale" lovers The Black Sheep Brewery is situated at the gateway to Wensleydale in Masham http://www.blacksheep.co.uk - The Yorkshire Dales are little more than 1 hours drive away by car.


About Us | Tel. 01904 425156 | From outside uk +44 1904 425156 | Fax. 01904 415290 | Email Us | ©2006 M D Smith